About

6

October 12, 2012 by gemmalunn

I’m currently teaching English in a Girls’ Middle School in Busan, South Korea.  I first became aware of reflective practice (RP) through my Trinity Diploma course but didn’t start actively being involved until I attended the KOTESOL RP symposium in Busan back in April.  Inspired by talks from Josette LeBlanc and Michael Griffin I started thinking about how RP could really benefit me and help improve my teaching.  Turns out another Busan teacher was thinking along the same lines, John Pfrodresher, so after some discussions we decided to set up the Busan RP Special Interest Group (a separate post to come on this).

Why blog?

Over the past 4 months I’ve become more active online: through twitter, reading blogs by ELTs around the world and joining online chats, all of these have helped build and widen my personal learning network (PLN) something that has benefited me greatly.  My motivation has soared, my knowledge / awareness of topics related to teaching has increased greatly and most importantly I have found a source of support and development that my current workplace does not really offer.

So, I’m starting this blog as a way of documenting my journey from an RP newbie to a not so newbie!

6 thoughts on “About

  1. barryjameson says:

    Best of luck with the blog. I’m sure it’s going to be excellent. I look forward to reading it.

  2. Awesome, the blog looks really neat and tidy, I can’t wait to read some entries!

  3. gemmalunn says:

    Thanks Alex, just got to get writing now!

  4. Amelie Kelly says:

    Hi Gemma! Where are you taking the Trin dip? I’m signed up with OxfordTEFL for the November start and am terrified!

    • gemmalunn says:

      Hi,
      I’m doing it through St Georges (SGI) in London. Don’t be terrified, I’m sure you’ll love it as I have. I really like being able to work at my own pace without set deadlines (not sure if you course will be the same) this has given me plenty of time to read a lot and let all the new info sink in as well as try out new ideas in class.
      I used to work for Oxford TEFL in Barcelona and they are a great company so I’m sure they’ll give you plenty of support and guidance. Plus now you have a great PLN to help and suuport you too!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

RSCON4

2013 Reform Symposium E-Conference (RSCON)

The Holistic Blueberry

Living life healthily and happily

Hapgood

Mike Caulfield's latest web incarnation. Networked Learning, Open Education, and Digital Polarization

DYNAMITE ELT

For developing EFL/ESL teachers.

ELT Research Bites

More than just an abstract

#TBLTchat

A Twitter chat on Task-Based Language Teaching and Learning

Publishing and Pondering

From publishing to Berlin and back again

The Text Chat Teacher

Teaching English Through Text Chat

Muddles into Maxims

reflecting on training, teaching, and learning on and around a 4-week ELT cert course

Jeremy D. Slagoski, PhD

Educator - Curriculum Designer - Researcher

The TEFL Show

Podcasts about teaching English and learning languages

teflreflections

My ramblings, rants and reflections on TEFL

Ready, Steady, Go!

Teaching EFL to YLs & VYLs

BYOT Network

Transforming schools and classrooms into learning communities with personalized technology tools and digital content

Achilleas Kostoulas

Αχιλλέας Κωστούλας Ιστοσελίδα και Ιστολόγιο

elteachertrainer

John Hughes, ELT author & teacher trainer

Freelance Teacher Self Development

For you, then your learners

ROSE BARD - Teaching Journal

“The more radical the person is, the more fully he or she enters into reality so that, knowing it better, he or she can transform it. This individual is not afraid to confront, to listen, to see the world unveiled.― Paulo Freire

