Cool things that happened today (and yesterday)

6

March 14, 2013 by gemmalunn

Challenged and inspired by Mike Griffin’s latest post and subsequently by Carol Goodey and Tom Randolph I have complied a list of cool things that have happened to me today and 1 that happened yesterday.

  •  A student found and pulled out my first grey hair! This is cool because the student was new and I feel that letting her pull out the hair was a good bonding moment and we (her and her table) shared a joke; albeit at my expense!
  • Along the same lines, for the third day in a row I revealed a hole in my socks/tights when climbing up to turn on the OHP! Again, I feel I successfully showed students how to laugh at yourself and not be embarrassed!
  • I made some progress with a special needs student and hopefully continued to set a good example to her classmates of how she should be treated.
  • I noticed (today and in the last week!) how nice it was to see how some (not all) grade 3 students have matured after the break and are paying more attention in class and trying a bit harder.
  •  Two students who had previously been pretty apathetic in class asked me ‘where are you from?’ (after nearly 2 years teaching them!) and continued to ask questions about different countries; keen to feed their interest I let them explore the globe for the rest of the lesson.
  • (Yesterday) I used a Ken Wilson improvisation activity in my after school class. I was able to sit back and watch almost the whole 45 minutes be conducted by the students, thus successfully showing them that they can speak purely in English for 45 minutes and with little help from me.
  • I read Rose Bard’s new post ‘Global Citizenship: Everyone has the right to fly’  I’ve been thinking along similar lines this week; it’s nice to know teachers on the other side of the world experience the same challenges.
  • I have taught all but one of my classes for this week meaning I have plenty of time for planning, studying and blogging until 11:45 on Monday.
6 thoughts on “Cool things that happened today (and yesterday)

  1. swisssirja says:

    Loved it ! First two happenings were fun to read, others heart- lifting, and one really motivating – will read Ken Wilson’s post ASAP! Have a great end of the week!

    • gemmalunn says:

      Thanks so much. I highly recommend the Ken Wilson drama and improvisations activities; great fun. Be interesxted to hear how you get on with them. Have a great week too.

  2. Rose Bard says:

    Thanks for putting my blogpost among your cool stuff list. So happy that I am not alone ad amazed that people can share the same feelings/challenges despite the nationality, cultural background and experiences. Absolutely amazing!

    Loved reading the cool things related to your classes/students.

    “Setting a good example” reminded of a blog post I want to write: “Teaching Values, Living them”.

    Gotta check out Ken’s blogpost. Thanks!

    Have a great weekend dear Gemma. 🙂

    • gemmalunn says:

      Hi Rose, glad you liked the post. Your post the other day was very timely, funny that I had been feeling exactly the same!

      Look forward to reading your next post, sounds good 🙂 Hope you’re having a great w-e too.

  3. […] Laura Phelps (Georgia), Ann Loseva (Russia), Kevin Stein (Japan),  Carol Goodey (Scotland), Gemma Lunn (Korea), Ava Fruin (USA), Tyson Seburn (Canada), and Tom Randolph (Korea)… did I miss […]

  4. […] from his experiences right up the way here in Seoul. c) Gemma Lunn (@GemL1) also supplied a golden list of cool things from her interactions in the past few days at her middle school in Busan. d) In her new blogging […]

Leave a Reply

The Holistic Blueberry

Living life healthily and happily

Hapgood

Mike Caulfield's latest web incarnation. Networked Learning, Open Education, and Digital Polarization

DYNAMITE ELT

For developing EFL/ESL teachers.

ELT Research Bites

More than just an abstract

#TBLTchat

A Twitter chat on Task-Based Language Teaching and Learning

Publishing and Pondering

From publishing to Berlin and back again

The Text Chat Teacher

Teaching English Through Text Chat

Muddles into Maxims

a teacher/trainer reflecting on shifts from confusion to clarity (and the other way 'round)

Jeremy D. Slagoski, PhD

Educator - Curriculum Designer - Researcher

The TEFL Show

Podcasts about teaching English and learning languages

teflreflections

My ramblings, rants and reflections on TEFL

Ready, Steady, Go!

Teaching EFL to YLs & VYLs

Maria Theologidou Blogging! | Teaching English

A passionate teacher and an enthusiastic blogger!

BYOT Network

Transforming schools and classrooms into learning communities with personalized technology tools and digital content

Achilleas Kostoulas

Αχιλλέας Κωστούλας Ιστοσελίδα και Ιστολόγιο

elteachertrainer

John Hughes, ELT author & teacher trainer

Freelance Teacher Self Development

For you, then your learners

ROSE BARD - Teaching Journal

“The more radical the person is, the more fully he or she enters into reality so that, knowing it better, he or she can transform it. This individual is not afraid to confront, to listen, to see the world unveiled.― Paulo Freire

