11 things – A Blog Challenge

4

December 23, 2013 by gemmalunn

This post is part of the fun ’11’ blog challenge, thanks to Josette LeBlanc, Kevin Stein and Ratnavathy for tagging me and thanks to whoever started the challenge as it has been a lot of fun and I’ve enjoyed getting to know the people behind the blogs better. I’m going to cheat a bit and rather than answer all the questions just pick a few from each blogger! I also haven’t asked any more questions or tagged anyone as I think everyone in my PLN has already been tagged! However, if you read this and haven’t been tagged yet then let me know and I’ll ask qs / tag you!

The blog challenge is as follows:

  • Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  • List 11 bloggers.
  • Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you.

11 random facts about myself

Not sure how random or interesting these are but anyway….

1. I love horse riding and have done since I was 5, I’ve never had my own horse and probably never will as sharing is much easier and cheaper! I currently share a lovely, sweet mare called Minuet.

2. I am very excited about this Christmas as I’ve spent the last 2 away from home in Korea so this year will be extra special.

3. When I was 19 I spent a month living on a ranch in Montana learning how to be a cowgirl.

not a very convincing cowgirl!

not a very convincing cowgirl!

4. I’m no good at sitting still for long or not doing anything.

5. My current guilty pleasure is the TV show – made in Chelsea!

6. I lived in Barcelona for a year without getting mugged / pick pocketed!

7. I’m feeling extremely proud of / motivated by my younger brother right now who has just got a distinction in his MA and is off to Guatemala in January to work for a human rights organisation.

8. Due to number 7 a trip to Central and South America in 2014 is now a possibility.

9. I crashed my car 3 times within the first month of passing my test, the worst of which was when I reversed into my dad’s car, I swiftly got out and ran away to my friends house for the evening! My dad says that month was the most stressful of his life!

10. I had a typewriter when I was young.

11. I should be writing assignments right not blogging but this is a welcome distraction!

Josette’s Questions:

  •  Do you prefer planes, trains, or automobiles when traveling?

Definitely trains, I have a bit of a fear of flying and have to take valium with me just in case of bad turbulence!

  • Tea or coffee?

Tea, tea, tea!

  • If you could spend a year focusing on research, what would you research? Why?

Next year I’ll be lucky enough to spend a good part of the year focusing on research for my MA dissertation. An area which I find extremely interesting and plan to focus on is looking at reasons behind differing levels of English among immigrants living in the UK.

  • What’s your favourite word?

Aprovechar – it’s Spanish and means to make the most of…. I use this expression a lot in English and the fact that Spanish just has one word is much more convenient and it sounds better!

Ratna’s questions

  •  How do you relax and wind down?

By going horse riding, for a run or doing yoga, but if I’m not feeling that energetic or healthy then a nice meal and wine!

  • What irks you?

Fussy eaters!

Kevin’s questions

  • What is your comfort food?

Chilli con carne.

  • Ocean or mountains?

Mountains by the ocean!

the best of both

  • Where is the one place you’ve been to that you feel like you must get back to again?

I haven’t been back to Barcelona or Spain for a few years so would really like to go back next year.

 

4 thoughts on “11 things – A Blog Challenge

  1. kevchanwow says:

    Gemma,

    Thanks for taking up the challenge. And thanks for a year of your blog. Your reflection challenge was perhaps my favourite series of blog posts of the year. And aside from the whole teaching thing, I’m thrilled to know that you have had your car/driving issues. Whether this sense of satisfaction at your driving mishaps is logical and warranted or not is besides the point. It’s just great to know you, as a person, a bit more.

    Kevin

    • gemmalunn says:

      Thanks Kevin. That really means a lot coming from you (re the reflection challenge not the driving issues 🙂 ) Thanks to you too for all the inspiration I’ve got from your posts throughout the year.
      Have a wonderful Xmas and I look forward to reading more on your blog in 2014.
      Gemma.

  2. Josette says:

    I thought you might be tea. 🙂

    Thanks four playing along Gemma! I loved learning about the cowgirl behind the teachers! 🙂

    Happy New Year my dear!

Leave a Reply

The Holistic Blueberry

Living life healthily and happily

Hapgood

Mike Caulfield's latest web incarnation. Networked Learning, Open Education, and the Wiki Way

theteachertrials

My classroom trials. Sometimes I get it right.

DYNAMITE ELT

For developing EFL/ESL teachers.

ELT Research Bites

More than just an abstract

#TBLTchat

A Twitter chat on Task-Based Language Teaching and Learning

Publishing and Pondering

From publishing to Berlin and back again

The Text Chat Teacher

Teaching English Through Text Chat

Muddles into Maxims

reflecting on training, teaching, and learning on and around a 4-week ELT cert course

Jeremy D. Slagoski

Curriculum Coordinator. English Language Teacher. Researcher.

The TEFL Show

Podcasts about teaching English and learning languages

teflreflections

My ramblings, rants and reflections on TEFL

Ready, Steady, Go!

Teaching EFL to YLs & VYLs

BYOT Network

Transforming schools and classrooms into learning communities with personalized technology tools and digital content

Achilleas Kostoulas

Αχιλλέας Κωστούλας Ιστοσελίδα και Ιστολόγιο

elteachertrainer

The blog of ELT trainer and author John Hughes with content related to his publications and now experimenting with video for the flipped elteachertrainer.

Freelance Teacher Self Development

For you, then your learners

ROSE BARD - Teaching Journal

“The more radical the person is, the more fully he or she enters into reality so that, knowing it better, he or she can transform it. This individual is not afraid to confront, to listen, to see the world unveiled.― Paulo Freire

